Share market holidays 2017 [Complete List]

In this article, I shall try to cover the share market holidays in India regarding various segments such as equity and currencies.

The trading on the segment of equities takes place on every day except Saturdays and Sundays. If the Stock Exchange declares any day as holiday in advance then trading remains suspended for that day.

Indian stock market holidays for 2017:

Let us have a look at the list showing trading holidays for 2017 – [equity segment,  equity derivative segment and SLB(stock lending and borrowing) segment]

 

Serial. No       Holidays                   Date Day

 

1 Republic Day 26.01.2017 Thursday
2 Mahashivratri 24.02.2017 Friday
3 Holi 13.03.2017 Monday
4 Ram Navami 04.04.2017 Tuesday
5 Dr.Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti and Good Friday 14.04.2017 Friday
6 Maharashtra Day 01.05.2017 Monday
7 Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan Id) 26.06.2017 Monday
8 Independence Day 15.08.2017 Tuesday
9 Ganesh Chaturthi 25.08.2017 Friday
10 Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti 02.10.2017 Monday
11 Diwali * Laxmi Puja 19.10.2017 Thursday
12 Diwali Balipratipada 20.10.2017 Friday
13 Christmas 25.12.2017 Monday

 

NOTE

The Exchange may make change(s) regarding any of the above holidays. In order to do such alteration, the Exchange shall issue a separate circular in advance.

This is to note that the Exchange may close trading in the market on days other than the scheduled holidays or may keep the market open on days which were originally declared as holidays. It is the discretion of the Exchange to extend, advance or reduce market hours when it feels the requirement of it.

NSE  & BSE holidays for the year 2017 falling on Saturday or Sunday

Serial. No Holidays Date Day
1 Mahavir Jayanti 09.04.2017 Sunday
2 Bakri ID 02.09.2017 Saturday
3 Dussehra 30.09.2017 Saturday
4 Moharram 01.10.2017 Sunday
5 Gurunanak Jayanti 04.11.2017 Saturday

Currency Trading  And Clearing & Settlement holidays

Sr.No Holidays Date Day
1 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti 19.02.2017 Sunday
2 Annual Bank Closing 01.04.2017 Saturday
3 Gudhi Padwa 28.03.2017 Tuesday
4 Parsi New Year 17.08.2017 Thursday
5 Id-e-Milad 30.11.2017 Thursday

 

Timing of the Indian stock market:

Timing of the Indian stock market is divided into three sessions:

Session Timing
Pre-open Trading Session 09:00 – 09:15
Trading Session 09:15 – 15:30
Closing Session 15:40 – 16:00

 

A) Pre-open session:

Pre-opening session is basically divided into three parts:

9.00 a.m. to 9.08 a.m. : In the first 8 minutes, you can place the order, you can also modify or cancel the order in this session. Order entry session will randomly stop anytime between the 7th & 8th minute.    Order entry & modification Open: 09:00 a.m.

Order entry & modification Close: 09:08 a.m. ( Random closure takes place in last 1 minute. Pre-open order matching commences immediately after the close of pre-open order entry).

9.08 a.m. to 9.12 a.m. : In the next 4 minutes price discovery, order matching and the trade confirmation will be done, and orders will be executed. Order modification or cancellation would not be allowed in this session.

9.12 a.m. to 9:15 a.m. : The next 3 minutes are used to facilitate the transition from pre-open to regular session. All unexecuted orders in the pre-open session will be carried forward to the normal trading session by the exchange.

B) Regular trading session:

Normal/Limited Physical Market Open: 09:15 a.m.

Normal/Limited Physical Market Close: 15:30 p.m.

Trades occur continuously as orders match at time/price priority.

 

C) Closing Session of the market takes place between 15.40 p.m and 16.00 p.m. :

During this session, people can place buy/sell orders in equity (delivery segment ) at the market price. During the post-market session, even if you place a market order it will be placed on the exchange at the closing price.

Similar to pre-market orders, post-market orders are allowed only for equity trading.

Conclusion:

I have covered all the holidays of major stock exchanges of the country (i.e, NSE and BSE) associated with all possible segments in India for the calendar year 2017. We hope that the list of share market holidays help an Indian stock market trader or a prospective trader to plan his/her vacations better.

If you have any question to ask, please write in the comment box.

Keep Finnovating!



3 Comments

Leave a Reply